DANNY BOYLE FOR THE GOLD.

Well, it’s that time again…the Summer Olympics will be in full swing today after the lighting of the torch. Of course, we all know what else there is to look forward to, and that is the opening ceremony. I heard a rumor that Mary Poppins and Lord Voldemort will be fighting at this year’s ceremony in London? Don’t quote me, like I said, I just heard some rumors going around. If it is true, I’m not sure how I feel about that. I mean, I love anything regarding the Harry Potter series, and Mary Poppins is a stand-up lady, but I just don’t see how the two could mesh. Will she injure him with her umbrella and pull something from her magic, endless bag? Then again, I like things that are unique and different, so I respect the idea in itself. My one condition: if there’s any correlation to the baby-like piece of Voldemort’s soul that is seen at the end of the seventh Harry Potter movie, then I will run for the hills. There’s no need for that creepy thing to be seen again.

Regardless, it will be in London, so I really can’t complain. As I’ve already made apparent, I am obsessed with London and would love to move there (why do their Visa regulations have to be so strict? Someone like me and choose to sponsor me please!) Ahem, like I was saying, the opening ceremony is bound to be exciting. However, I can only imagine how nervous Danny Boyle is, he being the Oscar-winning director in charge of the preparations. Not only is the ceremony alone very overwhelming, but this ceremony is the first since that in Beijing , which we can all remember as being out of this world:

(I do not own the video above; I am simply using it from YouTube for blog purposes).

So, how does he compete with that?! According to one news source, he is treating his task like a movie. He is creating it as a drama rather than a sporting event. It makes sense: he is an Oscar-winning director; movies are what he knows, and directing is what he does best. I believe he has his head on his shoulders, especially because of his great accomplishments prior to this. Yes, he is the same man who directed “Slumdog Millionaire,” so I’m pretty sure we can all agree that we can expect great things from him. Having a Telecommunications and Film degree, I am fascinated by the whole idea. I want to watch the opening ceremony and see if it feels like the opening of a sporting event or if it feels like a dramatic play or movie. He’s using ideas from some of Shakespeare’s works, specifically “The Tempest,” for the performance, so of course my curiosity only increases.

One of the things that made me fall in love with the movies is their ability to take you into the story and cause you to forget about everything else around you. To me, my favorite movies pull me into the plot so much that I have no care in the world at that moment. For about ninety or so minutes, my biggest concern is how the protagonist is going to accomplish his or her goal and why the director used certain shots to portray that message. Yes, nerd alert, when I watch television, films, and the like, I not only take in what is happening in the story but also in the production of it. I was recently given a bucket list of movies that all filmmakers should watch at some point in their lives, and I could not have been more excited to get started.

So, to pull everything together, I am very interested and excited about today’s opening ceremony. I remember when I was studying in London, I walked out of the National Gallery of London and stumbled upon a huge wooden crate in the center of Leicester Square. No one knew what was inside of it, but it was roped off and seemed important. There was commotion that something connected to the Olympics would be unveiled that night. As much as I wanted to see the unmasking of this mysterious item, my friends and I couldn’t make it.

A few days later, I walked past Leicester Square again and took the above picture. It was a countdown structure that would remain in the area until the Olympic Games began.  Notice how it says “only” 483 days, 4 hours, 1 minute, and 31 seconds until the beginning of the Olympics. This makes me even more depressed to realize how long it has actually been since I was forced to leave London…however it is also very neat as we near this opening ceremony. I was there the day the mysterious box with the countdown appeared in the historical city. Everything I like will be included: performances, sporting events, a renowned Oscar-winning director, and of course, London. Prayers go to those who have been working for months upon months for today’s opening ceremony. Hats off to you, Mr. Boyle, and God speed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

